Life Throws You Curve Balls, You Learn to hit them out of the Park!

Where were you at?

Where were you on September 11, 2001?

(I know this is a day late and I am sorry, but I got a little side tracked with getting things done today and trying to recooperate from this darn cold!)

Leave a comment on where you were at on the day America changed.

My day:

The day started out like any other. At 6 am I had to get up and get ready for school. Yes, 6 am!! Extremely early. It was a day that I didn’t know was going to change my perspective on life. I went to the bus stop at 6:55 am just like any other day of school. School started at 7:30. First period went off without a hitch, everything was as normal as can be. The time that changed my life was during second period. It was English class, but I had to go down to the office to speak with a counselor about a few things. As I was leaving I saw the T.V. and I didn’t know what to think. Is this really happening? Where is that at? What are the World Trade Centers? You see, at that point in my life, I knew there were other areas of the world that I had not known, but really didn’t feel the need to get to know them. This day changed that! Well, I went back to my class and said something to my teacher and she quickly went to find the channel that had the news. It was then that an announcement was made. “Attention all faculty, please turn to channel ____.” At this point in time I do not exactly remember what channel it was, or if there was quite possibly more to the announcement. What I do remember about that moment in time was the sound of my heart beating rapidly, and the other students murmuring amongst themselves trying to figure out what happened. I also remember the sound of the changing channels as my teacher flipped through them. Now, is the time I find out that there is more to the whole story and what actually happened. I knew the general idea that something was going on in New York City, but didn’t know that a plane had hit until my teacher turned on the news. Both towers were hit. At this point in time I do not remember if it was then that the towers went down or if it was during my fourth period pre-algebra class, but that isn’t quite important at this time.

Second period finally came to a close, and we had to drag ourselves away from the t.v. and figuring out what was going on so we can move to our next class. Science. Now, I do have to say that my 8th grade science teacher wasn’t quite my most favorite person in the world, in fact, I think I could have probably done without having him in my life. He didn’t really bother to think about what was really going on in the world. He deemed it too “depressing” to watch. Which, if you think about it, it is pretty depressing, but shouldn’t the students have a right to know what is going on? It does sort of affect us too. He refused to turn on the t.v. or even discuss how the students felt about what was going on. He just went ahead in his lecture as if it was a normal day.

Finally, time for pre-algebra. My math teacher was an awesome teacher and I am glad I had him because he helped me to understand math a little better, but that isn’t the point. He knew that he would have to do his lesson plan, but he figured the first thing to do is to speak with the students and get their take and try to answer any and all questions that he was able to. He told us that he would spend half the class talking about the world trade centers, the planes, and everything else that had already happened at this point. (Didn’t I tell you? AMAZING!) He told us that he would rather discuss how we felt on the matter because of the fact that he knew as middle schoolers, that we have a harder time processing things to a certain extent. Especially if they are not in our immediate vicinity. So we got through the first half of class and then he said that we had about 15 minutes of going through the lesson and we can talk some more. He even left the t.v. on and muted so this way we can stay up to date even if we weren’t listening to it.

The rest of the day went by, some teachers talked with the students during class, while others just merely didn’t want to be bothered. Now, don’t get me wrong, but why would a gym teacher want to sit down and discuss this matter anyway? He did, but not as long as some others.

Like I said, the day went by, I took the bus home and when I got there, I started to freak out! I mean, what 8th grader wouldn’t? I went home to find out that NO ONE was home. Normally my mom was home at least with my baby sister (the youngest at the time) and my other little sister, but NO ONE was there. So, I turned on the t.v. instead of working on homework to see what was going on. It was the only thing I could really do, but I still was freaking out. My mom finally got home, and so did my brother. My step-dad was soon to arrive after that. I didn’t quite know why I freaked out that day when no one was home, but now I kind of do know. I mean I recognize the fear. I didn’t know where anyone was and in my town there is a flight control center smack dab in the middle. Who wouldn’t freak out about that? Especially being they blocked off a WHOLE block so no one could even drive around the block it was located on. I was afraid that something might happen, such as a plane going down, while my parents were gone and I would never see them again. Rational thinking right? Well, in a way yes. Like I said, I was an 8th grader. What else do you expect?

From that night on, for about a year every time I heard a plane fly overhead (at this point they were flying pretty low, and the one airport wasn’t far away) I would freak out and hold my breath and pray. I don’t know why I kept having this fear, but it was there none the less. We constantly had military planes flying overhead VERY low because of the command center. It was a scary fact, but life moved on.

Every year, this day is “celebrated” or mourned, or however you would like to call it. But as a student the first year after teachers asked for projects in relation to September 11th, because we were memorializing the day, but after that first year, no teacher seemed to want a project dedicated to it. Why? I have no idea, but in my brain I am memorializing it every day of every year. It is a day that I will NEVER forget. A day that is forever engrained (however fuzzy the memories may be) in my brain.

I know I have SEVERAL poems from this day, and I have been thinking, that even with all the other things that I do have to add to here, that I just may start adding some of my poetry that I had done over the years. What do you all think? Would you like that? Tell me what you think, and where you were on this particular day in time. You don’t necessarily have to go through the day, unless you want to, like I did, but even a simple word, a sentence, a paragraph will work.

Just tell me this:

  1. Where you were
  2. What you were doing
  3. How it changed or did not change your life

One of the images that has ALWAYS touched my heart since that day. America has been changed, but we are united as one. This tragedy seems to have brought us back together.

Again, thank you for being my followers and I hope that this post either shed some light on things, made you think, or was just for pure entertainment in your book.

Blessed be!

Tosha

Leave a Reply

